Home  |  Style  |  Theatre  |  Mischief-making activist comedian Mark Thomas brings his new show to the Liverpool Everyman in March

Mischief-making activist comedian Mark Thomas brings his new show to the Liverpool Everyman in March

by Khyle Deen. Published Thu 30 Jan 2020 20:06

In his new show 50 Things About Us, Mark Thomas combines his trademark mix of storytelling, stand-up, mischief and really, really well researched material to examine how we have come to inhabit this divided wasteland that some of us call the United Kingdom.

Mark picks through the myths, facts and figures of our national identities to ask how we have so much feeling for such a hollow land. Who do we think we are? It is a show about money, history, songs, gongs, wigs, unicorns, guns, bungs, sods of soil and rich people* in the vein of The Manifesto-meets-sweary history channel.

An unstoppable force both on and off-stage, Mark has stopped arms deals, created a manifesto and brought the winning policy to parliament, walked the entire length of the Israeli wall in the West Bank, set up a comedy club in Jenin, had six series on Channel 4 alongside several television documentaries and radio series, written some books, grabbed a Guinness World Record, toured sell-out tours, won numerous awards, nabbed himself a Medal of Honour and succeeded in changing some laws along the way.

50 Things About Us is also a podcast.
*(not the adjective Mark has chosen)

FEBRUARY
Sat 1st PLYMOUTH, Red House Theatre https://plymouthschoolofcreativearts.co.uk/building/
Tues 4th ABERDEEN, Lemon Tree 01224 641122 https://www.aberdeenperformingarts.com
Thurs 6th -Sat 8th GLASGOW, Tron 0141 552 4267 https://www.tron.co.uk/
Sun 9th BELFAST, The Black Box 028 9024 4400 https://www.blackboxbelfast.com/
Weds 12th MILTON KEYNES Stables 01908 280800 https://stables.org
Thurs 13th DIDCOT, Cornerstone 01235 515144 https://www.cornerstone-arts.org/
Sun 16th HEBDEN BRIDGE, Trades Club 01422 845265 https://thetradesclub.com/
Thurs 20th SWANSEA, Volcano 01792 464790 http://www.volcanotheatre.co.uk/
Sat 22nd BRIDPORT, Electric Palace 01308 428354 https://www.electricpalace.org.uk/
Weds 26th DORCHESTER, Arts Centre 0 1305 266926 https://www.dorchesterarts.org.uk/
Thurs 27th RADLETT: Radlett Centre 01923 859291 http://www.radlettcentre.co.uk/
Fri 28th LINCOLN, Drill Hall 01522 873894 https://www.lincolndrillhall.com/
Sat 29th BLACKBURN, Darwen Library Theatre 01254 706006 https://darwenlibrarytheatre.com/

MARCH
Sun 1st SHEFFIELD, Memorial Hall 0114 278 9789 https://www.sheffieldcityhall.co.uk/
Weds 4th YORK, Crescent 01904 622510 http://thecrescentyork.com/
Thurs 5th WAKEFIELD, Theatre Royal 01924 211311 https://www.theatreroyalwakefield.co.uk/
Sat 7th FROME, Merlin Theatre 01373 465949 http://www.merlintheatre.co.uk/
Weds 11th LYME REGIS, Marine Theatre 01297 442394 https://www.marinetheatre.com/
Fri 13th -Sat 14th LIVERPOOL, Everyman 0151 709 4776 https://www.everymanplayhouse.com/
Thurs 19th DURHAM, Gala 0300 026 6600 https://www.galadurham.co.uk/
Fri 20th DUNDEE, Rep Theatre 01382 223530 https://www.dundeerep.co.uk/
Sat 21st STIRLING, Macrobert Arts Centre 01786 466666 https://macrobertartscentre.org/
Tues 24th LEAMINGTON SPA: Royal Spa Centre 01926 334418 www.warwickdc.gov.uk/royalspacentre/
Weds 25th CARDIFF, Sherman Theatre 029 2064 6900 https://www.shermantheatre.co.uk/
Fri 27th SHREWSBURY, Theatre Severn 01743 281 281 https://www.theatresevern.co.uk/
Sat 28th NORWICH, Playhouse 01603 598 598 https://www.norwichplayhouse.co.uk/
Mon 30th CAMBRIDGE, Junction 01223 511 511 https://www.junction.co.uk/

APRIL
Thurs 2nd - Fri 3rd BIRMINGHAM, MAC 0121 446 3232 https://macbirmingham.co.uk/
Sat 4th CHESTER, Storyhouse 01244 409113 https://www.storyhouse.com/
Tues 7th STOWMARKET, John Peel Centre 01449 774678 https://www.johnpeelcentre.com/whats-on/
Weds 8th LEICESTER, The Y 0116 2557066 https://www.leicesterymca.co.uk
Thurs 9th LEEDS, City Varieties 0845 644 1881 https://www.cityvarieties.co.uk/
Fri 10th STOCKTON, Arc 01642 525199 http://arconline.co.uk/
Sat 11th MANCHESTER, Home 0161 2001500 https://homemcr.org/
Tues 14th HOVE, The Old Market 01273 201 800 https://www.theoldmarket.com/
Weds 15th ALDERSHOT, West End Centre 01252 330040 https://www.westendcentre.co.uk/
Thurs 16th -Fri 17th NOTTINGHAM, Lakeside Arts Centre 0115 846 7777 https://www.lakesidearts.org.uk/
Sat 18th WINCHESTER, Theatre Royal 01962 840440 https://www.theatreroyalwinchester.co.uk/
Sun 19th BURY ST EDMUNDS, Theatre Royal 01284 755127 https://www.theatreroyal.org/
Tues 21st LONDON, Leicester Square Theatre 0207 7342222 https://www.leicestersquaretheatre.com/
Weds 22nd CANTERBURY, Gulbenkian 01227 769075 https://thegulbenkian.co.uk/
Thurs 23rd EASTLEIGH, The Point 023 8065 2333 http://www.thepointeastleigh.co.uk/
Fri 24th TORRINGTON: Plough Arts Centre 01805 62462 https://www.theploughartscentre.org.uk/
Sat 25th OXFORD, North Wall Arts Centre 01865 319450 https://www.thenorthwall.com/
Thurs 30th MARGATE, Theatre Royal 0845 130 1786 https://www.margate-live.com/

MAY
Fri 1st READING, South Street 0118 960 6060 https://whatsonreading.com/



Comments

Post a comment

You have 140 characters left