Home  |  Music  |  New Music  |  Lust and lost phones, Red Rum Club bring an ice-cold, guilt-tinged anthem to the middle of summer with Vibrate

Lust and lost phones, Red Rum Club bring an ice-cold, guilt-tinged anthem to the middle of summer with Vibrate

by Khyle Deen. Published Wed 04 Aug 2021 18:15

Telling deep truths and setting them to the summer’s smoothest bops, Red Rum Club lay a tale of lousy lying lovers onto a bed of slick beats in Vibrate, their second single of the year, available now.

Rolling in with cocktail-stick-sucking, bad boyfriend bravado and laced with seductive strings that kisses dancefloor-quaking bass, the festival-ready six-piece keep their cool while getting listeners hot under the collar again.

As if opening the pages of a book, or clicking on the latest social media drama to unfold between friends and lovers, Vibrate is a vivid, love rat’s eye view of the drink that lit the fire, the heat of the deed and the excuses that followed. Arriving hot on the heels of their recent, conga-powered, high-energy single, Nightcalling, the band’s latest relatable, modern fable is the second to be lifted from Red Rum Club’s third album, How To Steal The World, released on Fri 22 October 2021 on Modern Sky.

Referencing the very real aspects of contemporary life – insistent messages in CAPS LOCK, lost phones and missed calls – and the dynamics of love and infatuation in the digital age, Red Rum Club hit the lyrical nail square on the head, while opting for a low-lit, 80s-vibed and radio-primed performance. No other band could quite pull it off the way Red Rum Club does.

Doran says: “’Vibrate’ is built on hazy recollections and confessions in the form of a guilt-laden ballad. It sets a scene of consequences and regret to an all-too-familiar list of excuses made by the bad half of the relationship. A sombre narrative cushioned by lush orchestral textures that create a cinematic score to this dreamy tale of inebriation and infidelity.”

Rising through pre-pandemic good times to steal headline crowds at Glastonbury and suddenly find themselves catapulted to shows across Europe, a sweaty and singing crowd-free 18 months has found Red Rum Club busily building a new catalogue of songs to take back to the stage. How To Steal The World has bottled the band’s frustrations and is almost ready to be spectacularly uncorked.

Ending their live hiatus, Red Rum Club head out on a 30-date UK Tour later this year, including rearranged dates on the road with Circa Waves, plus a headline, festival-closing appearance in the band’s home city, bringing the curtain down on Sound City, Liverpool. The full run of Red Rum Club dates for 2021 are as follows:

Tue 10 Aug Cardiff The Tramshed^
Wed 11 Aug Leicester O2 Academy^
Fri 13 Aug Keele SU^
Sat 14 Aug Liverpool Guild^
Tue 17 Aug Glasgow O2 Academy^
Thu 19 Aug Norwich The Waterfront^
Fri 20 Aug Brixton Academy^

Sun 5 Sep Neighbourhood Weekender, Manchester*
Fri 10 Sep TRNSMT
Tue 28 Sep Newcastle Riverside
Wed 29 Sep Glasgow King Tuts
Thu 30 Sep Hull Adelph
i
Fri 1 Oct Blackpool Bootleg Social
Sat 2 Oct Sound City Liverpool*
Sun 3 Oct Leeds Brudenell
Mon 4 Oct York Crescent
Tue 5 Oct London Lafayette
Wed 6 Oct Milton Keynes Crauford Arms
Fri 8 Oct Bedford Esquires
Sat 9 Oct Cardiff Clwb Ifor Bach
Sun 10 Oct Brighton Patterns
Mon 11 Oct Bournemouth Anvil
Wed 13 Oct Bristol Thelka
Thu 14 Oct Truro Old Bakery
Fri 15 Oct Exeter Cavern
Sat 16 Oct Oxford O2 Academy
Mon 18 Oct Birmingham O2 Institute 3
Tue 19 Oct Sheffield O2 Academy 2
Wed 20 Oct Huddersfield Parish
Thu 21 Oct Manchester Club Academy
Sat 23 Oct Liverpool Mountford Hall

^On tour with Circa Waves
*Festival Dates

Red Rum Clubs first two albums Matador (2019) and The Hollow Of Humdrum (2020) introduced existing fans who had caught up with the band on the road, and new listeners hitching a ride via national radio play, to their incomparable mix of indie storytelling and danceable grooves. Setting the kitchen-sink realism of Arctic Monkeys to the smile-wide fizz of classic pop, from Chic to KC and The Sunshine Band, the Liverpool band cut a distinct shape amongst the UK’s most exciting touring bands.

The band has confirmed the track listing for How To Steal The World as:

Drown
Love me like you wanna be loved
Vibrate
Summer of Another Lover
Nightcalling
Eighteen
How To Steal The World
Sweet Degrees
Come back, Anna Marie!
Disappear
Monaco
Beautiful Mind



Comments

Post a comment

You have 140 characters left