Home  |  Music  |  New Music  |  Jon Boden announces tour dates, both solo and with The Remnant Kings

Jon Boden announces tour dates, both solo and with The Remnant Kings

by Khyle Deen. Published Fri 13 Apr 2018 17:54, last updated: 13/04/18

In the wake of his critically acclaimed album ‘Afterglow’ (Hudson Records), released October 2017, Jon Boden has announced new live dates for Spring 2018.

The multi-BBC Folk Award winning artist, Jon Boden has become woven into the fabric of the English folk scene having established his name first as one half of Spiers & Boden and then for his role as frontman for one of the most successful English folk bands ever, Bellowhead, who racked up a quarter of a million album sales and seven singles on the Radio 2 playlist over twelve years which saw them play the BBC Proms in The Park, Glastonbury, The Royal Albert Hall and more across worldwide sell out tours.

Now flexing his musical muscles in his own right, Boden has delivered an album and a new eleven-piece big band, Jon Boden & The Remnant Kings - which includes fellow Bellowheaders Sam Sweeney and Paul Sartin along with Leveret’s Rob Harbron and Ben Nicholls and Richard Warren from Kings Of The South Seas plus brass and strings sections - which is attracting media attention, including a Radio 2 playlist slot for the first single from the album ‘All The Stars Are Coming Out Tonight‘, and generating ecstatic audience reactions.

‘Afterglow’ is a narrative album, telling a love story which weaves throughout a nighttime carnival of fire - it draws audiences into an atmospheric setting of barrel fires and star light, which at the live shows are accentuated by ambitious lighting designed by Emma Thompson to pick up the themes of light and dark which run throughout ‘Afterglow’.

Jon Boden solo dates:
April 2018:
Tues 17th - Theatr Brycheiniog, Brecon - brycheiniog.co.uk
Weds 18th - Pontio, Bangor - pontio.co.uk
Thurs 19th - Canolfan y Celfyddydau Aberystwyth Arts Centre - aberystwythartscentre.co.uk
Fri 20th - Taliesin Arts Centre, Swansea - taliesinartscentre.co.uk
Sat 21st - The Brewhouse, Taunton - thebrewhouse.net
Sun 22nd - The Stables, Milton Keynes - stables.org
Mon 23rd - New Vic Theatre, Newcastle-under-Lyme - newvictheatre.org.uk
Tues 24th - Guildhall Arts Centre, Grantham - guildhallartscentre.com
Weds 25th - The Apex, Bury St. Edmunds - theapex.co.uk

Jon Boden & The Remnant Kings dates:
April 2018:
Fri 27th - Victoria Hall, Saltaire - saltairelive.co.uk
Sat 28th - The Winding Wheel, Chesterfield - chesterfieldtheatres.co.uk
Sun 29th - Vivacity Key Theatre, Peterborough - vivacity-peterborough.com
Mon 30th - Civic Theatre, Chelmsford - chelmsford.gov.uk/theatres

May 2018:
Tues 1st - The Brook, Southampton - the-brook.com
Weds 2nd - Cheltenham Town Hall - cheltenhamtownhall.org.uk
Thurs 3rd - Hall for Cornwall, Truro - hallforcornwall.co.uk
Fri 4th - Colston Hall, Bristol - www.colstonhall.org
Sat 5th - Exeter Phoenix - exeterphoenix.org.uk
Sun 6th - Theatre Severn, Shrewsbury - theatresevern.co.uk



Comments

Post a comment

You have 140 characters left