Home  |  Movies  |  Movie Reviews  |  Twilight Eclipse review

Twilight Eclipse review

by Toni Garden. Published Mon 05 Jul 2010 13:15, last updated: 09/07/10

After what feels like 109 years of PR hype and more tabloid puns than you can shake a crucifix at, the third instalment of the Twilight Saga has opened in the US to a staggering $250 million box office takings in five days.

Having survived New Moon (or The Big Sulk of '09 as some critics were calling it) audiences returned on the promise of humour, more kick ass vampire action and of-course more shirtless immortals running around.

The teenage tantrums have been thwarted and with the overused dramatic sentence breaks also expelled, Eclipse finally hits it's stride at supernatural speed.

Eclipse delivers slick-paced action and some of the hottest “leg hitch” action we are likely to get in a 12A certificate movie.

The story so far has led down a sinister path of revenge for our love-sick teens.

Fiery redhead vamp Victoria is out to avenge her mate's demise and is drumming a new-born vampire army to take down the Cullen clan.

The threat of Victoria and her blood-sucking super army means the “veggie” vamps must put their differences aside and team up with the wolf pack to save Bella.

The third chapter of the saga also delves into the history of the Vampire and Wolf pack taking its audience for a welcome trip outside of the Edward/Bella bubble.

New director David Slade, who has worked with vampires before in the edgier 30 Days of Night, has brought the Saga screaming out of its teenage years and into adulthood with sex, marriage and love.

Kristen Stewart has played the stumbling klutz Bella Swan from the get-go with mumbling, doe-eyed innocence and an undercurrent of insecurity, which teenage girls have been able to relate to in their most 'painful' years of angst.

But Eclipse sees a change for our young heroine, knowing the only way to be with Edward is to become a vampire herself, she toys with the idea of marriage (a condition set by the victorian vamp before he will make her an immortal) and discovers there are some things still left to do while she has a pulse.

Hormones are raging and getting the better of the virginal couple. Realising Bella's feelings for shirt-hater Jacob are more than just friendly, Edward starts to lose some layers for some PG13 action (Would that be classed as necrophilia?).

Thanks to the mass market of underage teenagers and Stephanie Mayer's Mormon beliefs - sexual abstinence is cool and saving yourself until your married is so hot right now.

As Edward points out the “divorce rates for the undead are extremely low” so there must be some truth in abstaining.

Twilight fanatics will love the flashbacks stories of the vampires and the wolves and will be impressed at Rosenberg's script, which have always been impressively true to the books.

For any non-obsessive fans Eclipse is still enjoyable and as long as you are not easily distracted by some terrible wigs or adverse to seeing your girlfriend getting hot for 18-year-old Taylor Lautner, you should enjoy the dark side of the Saga.

The Twilight Saga: Eclipse will be showing at FACT from July, 9.



Comments

Post a comment

You have 140 characters left


"Seen it 3 times now and it just keeps getting better!!" helen Taylor-Tipton, derbyshire around 9 years, 8 months ago

"JUST THIS SECOND GOT BACK FROM SEEING IT! was the most amazing film i have ever seen! going too see it next week aswell, argh just amazing<3" alexandriaa, readingg around 9 years, 8 months ago

"I enjoyed it but was a little dissapointed. Action element detracted too much from the love triangle. Its all about the love....remember?!" Mer, Brighton UK around 9 years, 8 months ago

"TEAM EDWARD..!! Saw it twice already and goin to see it again on Wed and Many more times after that... IT WAS FREAKKKKKINNN AMAZZZINNN <3 It" Rebekah, Belfast around 9 years, 8 months ago

"Hey Again just gonna say TEAM JACOB!!!!!!!" Bethan, Romford, UK around 9 years, 8 months ago

"AMAZING FILM my favourite line \"i\'M HOTTER THAN YOU\" Jacob Black to Edward and i love most of the Twilight MEN IT WAS AMAZING " Grace Conrad, Croydon around 9 years, 9 months ago

"The film was amazing.I loved bella's ring and the proposal! Can't wait see it again!! " katie, bristol around 9 years, 9 months ago

"OMFG. The film was like the best film that has ever been made! I'm going too see it again next week it was that good :D x" Daisyyyyyy, Stanwell around 9 years, 9 months ago

"OMFG. The film was like the best film that has ever been made! I'm going too see it again next week it was that good :D x" Daisyyyyyy, Stanwell around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I went to see Eclipse on Saturday, i thought it was fantastic. Well worth the wait to get my Edward fix.!!!" lynsey ford, middlesbrough around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Loved the film, my favourite so far, however I think that there was a lot left out from the book! Still loved it though x" Gemma, London around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I loved the movie... Jacob is great kisser :D" Beata, LONDON around 9 years, 9 months ago

"THIS FILM IS ABSOLUTLY EMENSE! ALREADY SEEN IT TWICE AND PLANNING GOING TWICE AGAIN THIS WEEKEND!!! LOVE YOU ALL TWI HARDS" Bethan, Romford UK around 9 years, 9 months ago

"ive seen the film twice now and im actuallyy in love with it. the best film out of all of them. i love rosalies past and edward- FITTTAAYYYY" AliceW, england around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Can't wait! On Saturday I'm going to see the tripple feature!!! Already love it!!!" Daisy, Austria around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Three words A-MAZ-ING!!!!!! I am so excited to see breaking dawn, shame they didn't show the wedding dress, i wanted to see it :( but brill" Emily Davies, England, Surrey around 9 years, 9 months ago

"i loved it so much everything was just so great ad the musicfit every scene so perfectly dat i cryed at the propsal nd ive seen it twice !" Sarah Buckley, london around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Eclipse is the best by far even a twihater should love it!Action packed and R-Patz on the big screen what more could you want? :)" Holly, London around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Don't get me wrong I absolutely love Twilight but the books are so much better than the films!!! Stephanie Meyer is a legend!!!" Hannah, London around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Its was amazing, loved every minute!! Though I think I need to see it again... Everything I could of want - FANtastic!! x" Kirsty Hampton, Neston, Wirral around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I love this film, saw it at the premiere, it is the best one so far, really can't wait for breaking dawn. The action was good. Team Jacob" Zara Mnason, London around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Great film ! loved it ! Rob looks great and I think Bella is making the right choice ! go Edward ! :)" clare osborne, basingstoke around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I LOVED ECLIPSE! Best so far... Am a massive fan & things look set to better. Breaking Dawn is my fave book.. can't wait for it on film!" Hel Jones, London around 9 years, 9 months ago

"The best of the three so far. The acting is getting better and better as the characters develop. Can't wait to see for 3rd time" Laura, Neath around 9 years, 9 months ago

"A-M-A-Z-I-N-G is all needs said! Wondering how many times i read Breaking Dawn before 11 November Next Year :( RPATZ was beautiful. 5* x x " Kirsty Grant, Cockermouth, Cumbria around 9 years, 9 months ago

"The movie was amazing, I didn`t except it so brilliant and funny between Edward and Jacob. I`m waiting for Breaking dawn now." Cindy, London around 9 years, 9 months ago

"OMG Best Film Out From The Saga At The Moment Cannot Wait Till Breaking Dawn!" Charlotte, Kent England around 9 years, 9 months ago

"i loved the book so i knew the film would be great and have watched it 4 times now and hope to go again at the weekend love it love it xxx" carolyn, rainham essex around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Fab, couldnt have asked for more... Just dont know how I'm going to wait until November 11 for Breaking Dawn..DVD night = Twiligh nite!" Sarah, Kent around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I LOVED eclipse it was immense, best by far so far.. This was the funniest of the series so far and MY GOD i love edward cullen <3 xxxxxxxxx" kate perry, West yorkshire around 9 years, 9 months ago

"LOVED IT SO MUCH! Xavier Samuel was amazing! best film of the saga!" Abigail, suffolk uk around 9 years, 9 months ago

"went 2 midnight showing on friday, went again on saturday & am going on 9th. The film is amazing,best so far!loved it!but love the book more" Victoria Jones, Merseyside UK around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I saw the preview and loved it, I even cried lol and am seeing it again when it's out properly! :D Definitely team Edward but Jacob is hot!!" Aimee Whatson, Birmingham, England. around 9 years, 9 months ago

"awesome!!! midnight showing.. well worth it! Funny aswell (Jacob's one liners!)" rellyuk, uk around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Loveddddd eclipse! much better the second time i watched it and im sure it will be better and better the more times i go and see it." lauren, warwickshire around 9 years, 9 months ago

"O.M.G!!! I watched eclipse and it was the most emotional film EVERR!! It had me crying for jacob, Exhilarated.. and darn right entertained!" Waris Mahad , London! around 9 years, 9 months ago

"OMG,it was fantastic.The tent scene,Bella punching Jacob,Rosalie's and Jasper's history and Edwards bedroom scene were the best.Loved it" Marie, Blackpool around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Seeing it again on Friday. Wonder how many times I'll see this film in a cinema. I watched New Moon five times... Hm..." Roslyn, London around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Also like to add loved the stories of other characters! and it was really funny in parts, more like the book. seeing again on friday woo!!!x" Sadie Thomas, Bristol around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Saw the film as soon as possible Think it is possibly the best so far! They stuck mostly to the book, which I loved! plan to see it again!" Mia, Brighton around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I looooove this film. Best Eclipse film yet (lol). " Amy, UK around 9 years, 9 months ago

"WOW................. well worth the wait and the hype... i love it!!! defo the best so far xx" kirsty wenn, kings lynn around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I absolutely can't wait for the 9th of July, the actors/actresses are phenomenal, and have done an excellent job, it's going to be amazing" Chloe Crawford-Hector, London, earth around 9 years, 9 months ago

"i cannot wait to see this film, i was going to watch it on the internet but i thought no ill wait an robert is gorgeous im obsessed with him" rachel, liverpool around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Extemely enjoyable, stuck closely to the book which I thought was really good, loved Charlie's sarcastic dry wit that appealed to me a lot" Lisa Dransfield, Redcar around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Saw the preview on the 3rd. WOW WOW WOW. I diddn't think it was possible for Jacob to get any hotter. Not keen on new Victoria though LOVEIT" chloe o'connor, essex around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Brilliant but I think it could have been better" Rachel Smith, South Shields around 9 years, 9 months ago

"One word AWESOME!" jenny, liverpool around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Amazing brilliant shame they missed the sleepover but brilliant. i think it's best so far <3 ROBERT PATTINSON SO FIT xxxxxxx" Meghann Edwards, henley-on-thames around 9 years, 9 months ago

"WOW seen the film twice already loved it best so far i just love the cullens xxx" donna , grimsby around 9 years, 9 months ago

"OMG i LOVE this film its so amazing confussing at first btu then i got it i LOVE it and i got to see it beofre the rest of the UK!!! xox" daisy thatcher, essex around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Absolutely awesome - seen it in London yesterday and been to the premier (at least outside) ^^ so GO and WATCH!!!" Tanja, Munich around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Brilliant, best yet, more action in the love and war scenes. Jasper was my favorite this time!" Toni, Kent around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Best out of the lot so far, still wish there was more intensity between Edward and Bella, Jasper more than made up for it, cant wait for DVD" Clare, Wisbech around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Brilliant! best one yet! the pace is perfect, acting fantastic and direction much better x" Joanne, scarborough around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Seen it four times in 2 days!!! Love it so much, CAN'T WAIT to see it again!!!!!!!" Julie, London around 9 years, 9 months ago

"the movie changed my world... rob was cute and i felt pity for jacob the only thing that stayed the same Jackson ist sooooo hot ^^" Tina, Germany around 9 years, 9 months ago

"it was amazing i loved it i want to go and see it again x" stacey shirley, cardiff around 9 years, 9 months ago

"it was AMAZING! love the sizzling chemistry. bring on breaking dawn." roohi, Manchester around 9 years, 9 months ago

"premier & midnight screening, amazing ! <3" Candice, Dorset around 9 years, 9 months ago

"premier & midnight screening, amazing ! <3" Candice, Dorset around 9 years, 9 months ago

"premier & midnight screening, amazing ! <3" Candice, Dorset around 9 years, 9 months ago

"It was fantastic, the best of the trilogy so far! Definitely going to see it again this weekend!! :)" Ivana, London around 9 years, 9 months ago

"It was amazing and best movie from twilight saga..some parts i love in the book missing but still love it" Enya Marcela, Czech rep around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I loved it,it\\\\\\\'s the best on so far and they actually smile in this one,it\'s funny and Edward\'s fitter than ever" Charlie , Leominster around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Best film so far!Loved the fact you got to see more of the other cast. Being a team edward fan loved the bedroom scene & lovelyness haha!!" Mellissa Denney, Andover around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Such a brill film, the humour in it was fab! Also the chemistry between Bella and Edward was amazing just like in the book, can't wait 4 BD" Hayley McKay, England around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Unbelievable, Seen it twice. Some details missed out, but not so bad if you have read the books. chemistry stronger than ever, roll on next!" Steph , Preston around 9 years, 9 months ago

"it was amazing! best one so far- bring on breaking dawn!" libi, blackpool around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I think it was amazng although skipped a lot of stuff from boook that i loved but oh welll. I am going to see it again Seth is adorable!!!!!" Grace Conrad, London around 9 years, 9 months ago

"be like? Will they just let it go as far as they went in Eclipse? With it being a 12a i mean? " Vicki T, Manchester around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I cant wait for Breaking Dawn either, keep wondering where theyll put the break between the 2 films. Also, wonder what the sex scene will be" Vicki T, Manchester UK around 9 years, 9 months ago

"i loved it!!!!! :) i thought it was the best one so far and now i'm really exited about breaking dawn!!!! plus jacob was amazing !!!! :)" emily , england around 9 years, 9 months ago

"She isnt AS besotted over Edward-by that i mean shes in love with him but she comes into her own in this film.Jasper was fab!Loved it all!" Vicki T, Manchester UK around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I was extremely impressed with Eclipse, it did the book justice. Bella seems more confident in this one just like she did in the book..." Vicki T, Manchester, UK around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Thouught it was the best one yet and loved the first two, just wish alice has the role in the films she does in the books " claire, Suffolk uk around 9 years, 9 months ago

"It was a lot better than the first two twilight movies but I still think they could have done a lot more with it, it missed a lot out again" Jason, London around 9 years, 9 months ago

"this film is the best one yet Every1 should go and see it so true to the book its EPIC and amazing in everyway its worth going to watch." daniel, Northwest around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Eclipse was fantastic! i will be seeing it again soon loved the sexual tention hope to see more in BD. couldnt fault true to the book amazin" sadie thomas, Bristol around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I very much enjoyed eclipse and thourght it was very well done. some bits where a bit differnet from the book , but overall i enjoyed it" Yasmin Sarkar, London around 9 years, 9 months ago

"wow wkd film cant wait for next installment" jo, crawley around 9 years, 9 months ago

"i went to see it yesterday. it was amazing ! me and my friends were speechless. we could move ! its defa a movie we will be getting on DVD:)" RKB, Yorkshire around 9 years, 9 months ago

"omg brill'" pauline mullan, northern ireland around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Eclipse was amazing :) " kelly bolwell, Aberystwyth around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Eclipse was amazing, i thought it was more romantic and a hell of a lot funnier, but we didn't get to see her wedding dress which was a sad!" Emily Davies, Engalnd, Surrey around 9 years, 9 months ago

"It was awesome! But I found it "bitty"... maybe it should be 2 films like BD,or even a longer film. But would go & see it again & again!" Paula Stubbs, Colchester, England around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I went and saw Saturday and I think it was amazing! Best soo far! Going to see again Friday =)" Charlotte, Essex around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I wish the movie would have included more important events from the book!! Overall, it was my favorite because of the action and love scenes" Celeste, Kilgore around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Been to see Eclipse twice & as much as i love all the movies its definately my fav so far! Amazing action scenes & beautiful romanance!:)" Angela, glasgow around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Saw the preview at midnight on the 3rd.. BEST of the three! Abso loved it! 5*s, no doubt about it!!" Jenna, Luton, England around 9 years, 9 months ago

"I loved it ! Plenty of action and kept as close to the book as poss :O) " Nic, N.Ireland around 9 years, 9 months ago

"OMG... it was AMAZING so good am goin to see it again this weekend :) xxx" rachel takacs, liverpool U.K around 9 years, 9 months ago

"Seen the film, absolutely loved it! It was a lot better than I thought it would be and I loved the scene between Jasper and Alice too!!!" Roslyn, London around 9 years, 9 months ago